Call us on 020 3904 6826

Monday to Saturday 10am to 5pm

Hagstone

Hagstone by Sinead Gleeson

Author: Sinead Gleeson

£16.99

Available on backorder

Format:Hardback

Page Count:320

Date Published:11 Apr 2024

ISBN:9780008626648

Synopsis

The haunting debut novel from acclaimed, Irish no. 1 bestselling author, Sinéad Gleeson.

The sea is steady for now.

The land readies itself. What can be done with the woman on the cliff? On a wild and rugged island cut off and isolated to some, artist Nell feels the island is her home. It is the source of inspiration for her art, rooted in landscape, folklore and the feminine.

The mysterious Inions, a commune of women who have travelled there from all over the world, consider it a place of refuge and safety, of solace in nature. All the islanders live alongside the strange murmurings that seem to emanate from within the depths of the island, a sound that is almost supernatural – a Summoning as the Inions call it. One day, a letter arrives at Nell’s door from the reclusive Inions who invite Nell into the commune for a commission to produce a magnificent art piece to celebrate their long history.

In its creation, Nell will discover things about the community and about herself that will challenge everything she thought she knew. Beautifully written and gripping, Sinéad Gleeson’s debut novel takes in the darker side of human nature and the mysteries of faith and the natural world. Perfect for readers of Margaret Atwood and Sarah Moss.

Latest Books

Share:  Hagstone