Call us on 020 3904 6826

Monday to Saturday 10am to 5pm

The Unspeakable Acts of Zina Pavlou

The Unspeakable Acts of Zina Pavlou by Eleni Kyriacou

Author: Eleni Kyriacou

£9.99

Availability: 1 in stock (can be backordered)

Format:

Page Count:384

Date Published:25 Apr 2024

ISBN:9781837930364

Category:

Synopsis

**Selected for BBC 2 Between the Covers Book Club 2023**

THEY HAVE TOLD SO MANY LIES ABOUT ME.

London, 1954.

Zina Pavlou, a Cypriot grandmother, waits quietly in the custody of the Metropolitan police. She can’t speak their language, but she understands what their wary looks mean: she has been accused of the brutal murder of her daughter-in-law. Eva Georgiou, Greek interpreter for the Met, knows how it feels to be voiceless as an immigrant woman.

While she works as Zina’s translator, her obsession with the case deepens, and so too does her bond with the accused murderer. Zina can’t speak for herself. She can’t clear her own name.

All she can do is wait for the world to decide… IS SHE A VICTIM? OR IS SHE A KILLER?

A compelling historical crime novel set in the Greek diaspora of 1950s London – that’s inspired by a true story – The Unspeakable Acts of Zina Pavlou is perfect for fans of Erin Kelly, Sara Collins, and Jessie Burton.

‘Eleni Kyriacou has drawn such a rich cast in this enthralling and wholly original novel. Utterly compelling.’ Clare Mackintosh

‘Immersive, gripping, authentic’ Erin Kelly

‘Chilling, gripping’ Nikki Smith

‘A tragic and compelling tale’ Guardian

‘Tense. Moving. Morally complex. Zina Pavlou is wholly unforgettable.’ Rachel Rhys

‘Impressive… worthy of Sarah Waters’ The Times

Latest Books

Share:  The Unspeakable Acts of Zina Pavlou