Call us on 020 3904 6826

Monday to Saturday 10am to 5pm

Weasels in the Attic

Weasels in the Attic by Hiroko Oyamada

Author: Hiroko Oyamada

£9.99

Available on backorder

Format:Paperback

Page Count:80

Date Published:3 Aug 2023

ISBN:9781783789764

Synopsis

A UK debut from a fresh, prize-winning talent, this quietly surreal novel is perfect for fans of Sayaka Murata and Mieko Kawakami.

Two friends meet across three dinners. In the back room of a pet shop, they snack on dried shrimps and discuss fish-breeding. In a remote new home in the mountains, they look for a solution to a weasel infestation.

During a dinner party in a blizzard, a mounting claustrophobia makes way for uneasy dreams. Their conversations often take them in surprising directions, but when one of the men becomes a father, more and more is left unsaid. With emotional acuity and a wry humour, Weasels in the Attic it is an uncanny and striking reflection on fertility, masculinity, and marriage in contemporary Japan.

Latest Books

Share:  Weasels in the Attic